Mortal Kombat X Review

Last updated on:

Mortal Kombat X (MKX) is a fighting video game developed by NetherRealm Studios and published by Warner Bros in 2015. The game was released for PSP, Xbox One, Microsoft Windows PC as well as for Andriod and iOS.
MKX is the tenth main installment in the Mortal Kombat video game series and a sequel to the 2011 game Mortal Kombat.

Moratal Kombat X Cover

Like previous Mortal Kombat games, MKX’s gameplay consists of two players. The game contains several modes, such as a story mode, Tower Mode, Online Mode and finally the Krypt Mode. Story Mode takes place twenty-five years after the previous Mortal Kombat game. In Tower mode, Challenges change dynamically. Krypt Mode is a first-person perspective where players explore the areas unlocking a variety of in-game items.

Mortal Kombat X got the best reviews as compared with their previous installments. More than 10 Million Copies was sold in 2015 due to graphics, Story, Gameplay, and Characters.


An upgraded version of Mortal Kombat X, titled Mortal Kombat XL, was released on March 1, 2016, for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, including all downloadable content characters from the two, released Kombat Packs, almost all bonus alternate costumes available at the time of release. This edition was also released for PC on October 4, 2016, and was added to the Xbox Game Pass on December 7, 2018. A sequel, Mortal Kombat 11, was released on April 23, 2019.


Mortal Kombat X is a fighting game in which two characters fight against each other using a variety of attacks, including special moves, and the series’ trademark gruesome finishing moves. The game allows two players to face each other (either locally or online), or a single player to play against the CPU.

Moratal Kombat Fighting

The energy meter, first introduced in Mortal Kombat (2011), allows players to perform techniques such as “X-Ray” special moves. Similarly to NetherRealm Studios’ previous title, Injustice: Gods Among Us, fighters are able to interact with the environment, using parts of the scenery to reposition themselves or using available objects as weapons.

New Moves

In addition to the usual Fatalities, Mortal Kombat X features two new types of finishing moves: Quality and Faction Kills. The quality move instantly kills the player’s character if they quit during a multiplayer match. whereas Faction move Kills a set of finishing moves available to players based on the selection of one of the game’s five factions (Black Dragon, Brotherhood of Shadow, Lin Kuei, Special Forces, and White Lotus).

New Game Modes

For local single player, the game offers Story mode, a plot-driven mode with cutscenes between fights; and Living Towers, an evolved form of Mortal Kombat’s Challenge Tower where the play conditions change. Also locally, player vs. player mode is available. Playing online, the play modes include 1 vs. 1 (ranked or random), King of the Hill, Survivor, and Test Your Luck.

Moratal Kombat Main Character

Another new mode is Faction Wars. Here, players choose one from the five factions and join a persistent online cross-platform competition with others. Players that win competition earn points for their faction, contributing in the conflict between them, ranking up personally, and earning special rewards such as faction-specific finishing moves.

You should also check out another Action game Diablo 3 Reaper of Souls.


The game had 24 playable characters at launch, with 9 additional characters added via DLC. Goro was available either as a preorder bonus or with the purchase of Kombat Pack 2.

Moratal Kombat X Characters

Game Trailer

Check out Game Trailer published by Mortal Kombat on Youtube.

Leave a Reply